Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

May 21, 2025

The Honorable Donald J. Trump President of the United States The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, Northwest Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear Mr. President:

We are writing to express our serious disappointment and growing concern regarding the denial of Washington state's request for a Major Disaster Declaration following the devastating bomb cyclone that struck between November 17 and November 25, 2024. As representatives of Washington state, we earnestly request that you carefully reconsider this decision and approve the state's pending appeal without further delay.

From Grays Harbor, Pacific and Wahkiakum to King, Snohomish, and Walla Walla Counties, the storm's impact was severe, far-reaching and well-documented. One of the most destructive storms in recent history, it overwhelmed public infrastructure, endangered lives, and left residents across the state grappling with long-term consequences. This is precisely the kind of catastrophic event for which the federal declaration process was designed. The state's request outlines over \$34 million in damages across these six counties—costs that local governments cannot and should not be expected to shoulder alone.

Disaster declarations are not symbolic, they are critical lifelines for communities in crisis. Washington state's first responders, local governments, and emergency management professionals have done everything within their means to begin recovery, but the scale of the damage requires federal support through the Public Assistance Program and the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program. Anything less unnecessarily places our communities, infrastructure and long-term stability at an unacceptable risk.

Thank you for your attention to this matter. We remain committed to working with you to secure the support our constituents urgently need.

Sincerely,

Patty Murray
United States Senator

Emily Randall
Member of Congress

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Maria Cantwell
United States Senator

Dan Newhouse Member of Congress

CC: The Honorable Kristi Noem
The Honorable David Richardson

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Adam Smith
Member of Congress

Marie Gluesenkamp Perez Member of Congress

Michael Baumgartner
Member of Congress