

Stakeholder Notification

USDA Designates 11 Washington Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Washington

Triggering Disaster: Excessive Heat

Application Deadline: 11/14/2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Adams, Benton, Chelan, Douglas, Franklin, Grant, Kittitas, Klickitat, Okanogan,

Walla Walla, Yakima

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Washington: Columbia, Ferry, King, Lewis, Lincoln, Pierce, Skagit, Skamania, Snohomish, Whatcom,

Whitman

Oregon: Gilliam, Hood River, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Wasco

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

#

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer, and lender.