Senators Murray, Cantwell Cosponsor Bill to Block President Trump’s Updated Travel Ban

Legislation would withhold funding to enforce the executive order

WASHINGTON D.C. - After President Donald Trump re-issued his harmful restriction on refugees and immigrants from six Muslim-majority nations in Africa and the Middle East, U.S. Senators Patty Murray (D-WA) and Maria Cantwell (D-WA), joined 14 senators to introduce legislation to reverse the executive order and block its implementation. Specifically, the bill – which is similar to legislation introduced in January to block the first iteration of the Trump administration’s travel ban – would withhold funding to enforce the executive order. The bill also declares the executive order illegal based on the 1965 Immigration and Nationality Act, which banned discrimination against immigrants on the basis of national origin.

“Make no mistake, President Trump’s updated ban is still a ban on Muslims—and it still flies in the face of everything this country is about and what we stand for,” said Senator Murray. “Slamming the door shut on refugees and immigrants is un-American, and I will not idly sit by as President Trump continues to push a hateful agenda that betrays our American values.”

“President Trump’s revised Executive Order retreats from our values. We do not discriminate against individuals based on religion or national origin. We can both protect human rights and keep Americans safe from terrorism,” said Senator Cantwell.

Original cosponsors of the bill include U.S. Senators Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), and Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.).