Sen. Maria Cantwell selected as Wheat Leader of the Year

U.S. Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-WA) was selected as the 2015 Wheat Leader of the Year by the National Association of Wheat Growers board of directors. NAWG leaders, including Washtucna, Washington, farmer Brett Blankenship, president of NAWG, presented her the award during the annual Wheat Industry Winter Conference in Washington, D.C.

“America is producing some of the best wheat in the world thanks to our growers and their families—many of whom are in Washington State. I’ve been proud to fight for continued federal investments in cutting edge research and will continue to ensure our growers have the support they need to compete and win in the global economy. I’m very honored to receive this award,” said Sen. Cantwell.

“Sen. Cantwell has been one of wheat’s strongest allies during the last year. We sincerely appreciate all the work she has done on behalf of wheat growers, both in the state of Washington and all across the nation,” said Brett Blankenship, NAWG president and wheat grower from Washtucna, Washington. “We are grateful for her efforts in progressing tax and trade legislation, especially supporting Trade Promotion Authority and in defending crop insurance.

“We are proud to recognize Sen. Cantwell as the 2015 Wheat Leader of the Year Award, and I am honored to present the award to a leader from my home state,” said NAWG President Blankenship.

The Wheat Leader of the Year Award is the wheat industry’s highest legislative award. It is given annually by NAWG to one member of Congress based on the individual’s demonstration of commitment to the well-being and goals of the wheat industry.