Cantwell, Colleagues Formally Introduce Legislation to Block FCC Repeal of Net Neutrality on Net Neutrality National Day of Action

Senate is now just one Republican vote away from the majority required to pass a CRA to restore net neutrality by overturning President Trump and FCC Chairman Pai’s anti-consumer regulation

Washington, D.C.  – Today, U.S. Senator Maria Cantwell (D-WA), a senior member of the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Technology, joined dozens of members from both the Senate and House to officially introduce a Congressional Review Act resolution to restore the 2015 Open Internet Order after the FCC formally published its rule to repeal net neutrality in the Federal Register last week. Technology companies, grassroots organizations, advocates, and public interest groups also joined the lawmakers in support of the CRA.

“Artificially creating two classes of people when it comes to data is the wrong idea for our country. Make no mistake about it – this is an economic empowerment issue. In an information age, information is the critical tool, whether you’re seeking an education, seeking to participate in commerce, or seeking information in healthcare,” said Senator Cantwell. “The FCC’s decision will lead to information being slowed down and internet more expensive. We must overturn this decision.”

CRA resolutions allow Congress to overturn regulatory actions at federal agencies with a simple majority vote in both chambers, and with the support of all 49 Democrats and one Republican Senator, the legislation is just one vote away from securing the simple majority required for passage in the Senate. In the House of Representatives, Rep. Doyle’s resolution has 150 cosponsors.

Last December, the FCC voted to repeal the 2015 Open Internet Order, which the D.C. Circuit Court upheld in 2016. The Open Internet Order prohibited internet service providers from blocking, slowing down, or discriminating against online content. Repealing the net neutrality rules threatens the principles that built America’s booming internet economy and opens the door for cable companies and internet service providers to start increasing prices for consumers, slowing internet traffic, and even blocking websites.

In the Senate, Cantwell has been a leader in the struggle to establish and protect net neutrality and equal access to the internet. She was an early advocate for the FCC to take up net neutrality and used her position as a senior member of the Senate Commerce Committee to keep continuous pressure on the Commission during the drafting and implementation of the rules.

In 2017, Cantwell held a town hall in Seattle dedicated solely to net neutrality issues, where she heard from businesses and individuals about how repealing net neutrality would affect them.

Here’s what businesses from across Washington state had to say about protecting Net Neutrality:

Adam Cecchetti, CEO of Deja vu Security

“Across the country and in every sector of the economy, small businesses rely on a free and open internet to participate in the global economy. Repealing Net Neutrality would create yet another barrier to entry for many of these businesses, threatening companies that create jobs and provide valuable services that drive our economy forward.”

Gena Cook, CEO of Navigating Cancer

“The internet is rapidly emerging as a platform for supporting the delivering high-quality, value-based health care solutions to Americans of all backgrounds.  The FCC’s repeal of net neutrality threatens to stifle these innovations and put care at risk for patients across Washington and around the country.”

Derrick Morton, CEO of FlowPlay

“My business depends on the competitive pricing and fair internet that net neutrality has protected. Without net neutrality, we would be vulnerable to price spikes dictated by big corporations and a tiered internet, putting our business and employees at risk.”

In addition to Cantwell, senators co-sponsoring the CRA resolution to undo FCC’s actions are: Senators Edward Markey (D-MA), Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Bill Nelson (D-FL), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Gary Peters (D-MI), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Jack Reed (D-RI), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Kamala Harris (D-CA), Claire McCaskill (D-MO), Tom Udall (D-NM), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Bob Casey (D-PA), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Patty Murray (D-WA), Tina Smith (D-MN), Jon Tester (D-MT), Angus King (I-ME), Chris Coons (D-DE), Joe Donnelly (D-IN), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND), Doug Jones (D-AL), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Mark Warner (D-VA), and Susan Collins (R-ME).

# # #