Cantwell, Murray Applaud $7 Million in Funding for WA Energy Efficiency Projects

Funding will help reduce consumer costs, overall energy use

WASHINGTON, DC – Today, U.S. Senators Maria Cantwell (D-WA) and Patty Murray (D-WA) applauded more than $7 million in federal funding going to Washington state for energy efficiency and renewable energy programs. The Thurston Regional Planning Council in Olympia, Washington is receiving $2,159,021, and in the cities of Bainbridge Island and Bremerton, Conservation Services Group, Inc. is receiving $4,884,614.


“Investing in energy efficiency is one of the smartest and least costly ways we can reduce energy use and consumer costs,” Senator Maria Cantwell said. “This is a great program that leverages local dollars, creates jobs, and will continue to ensure Washington families and businesses have some of the lowest energy costs in the country.”


“Investing in efficiency and renewable energy is key to creating 21st century jobs here in Washington state,” said Senator Patty Murray. “These investments in local projects are good for the environment and provide a shot in the arm to the growing Washington state clean-energy sector.”


The $7 million Washington is receiving is part of $60 million in American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) funding announced today by Department of Energy (DOE) Secretary Steven Chu to expand local energy efficiency and renewable energy programs in 20 communities. The award recipients were selected for expected energy savings and reduced emissions impacts of the projects, leveraged investments from other non-federal sources, and whether the project could be replicated and expanded to contribute to a sustainable market for energy efficiency nationally.


The grants are administered under the Department of Energy’s Energy Efficiency and Conservation Block Grant (EECBG) program, which Cantwell helped author in the 2007 Energy Bill. ARRA provides $3.2 billion for the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Block Grants (EECBGs) program. Of that total, $400 million is to be awarded on a competitive basis to grant applicants.