Senators Call on Banking Committee to Reject Garrett Nomination to Lead Export-Import Bank

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, following the U.S. Senate Banking Committee hearing to consider nominees for the board of the Export-Import (EXIM) Bank, U.S. Senators Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), and Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) are calling on members of the Banking Committee to reject the nomination of Scott Garrett to chair the board of the EXIM Bank.

“In the hearing today, [Garrett] refused to retract any of his past comments disparaging and opposing the Bank’s mission. Based on his comments today, we strongly urge the Committee to reject his nomination to lead the EXIM Bank,” the Senators wrote. “We can and must do better. American workers and companies are counting on the U.S. Senate to set EXIM back on course to keep our country competitive.”

Garrett, a former congressman from New Jersey, voted against the reauthorization of the EXIM Bank in 2012 and 2015. He also has openly advocated for eliminating the bank despite evidence that EXIM drives economic growth and job creation in the United States.

“We remain convinced [Garrett] could cause further problems at EXIM if he is confirmed as Bank Board Chairman,” said the Senators.

Full text of the letter is available here.