Senators Cantwell, Muray Announce Federal Investments in Transit Agencies Across Washington State

From Seattle to Spokane, Olympia to Auburn—transit agencies secure federal investments to replace buses, improve facilities, and promote safe and reliable service

Washington, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senators Maria Cantwell (D-WA), and Patty Murray (D-WA) announced $13 million in federal investments in ten transit agencies across Washington state, helping communities promote safe, reliable transit service. Both Senator Cantwell and Senator Murray are champions of the Buses and Bus Facilities Program, which helps transit agencies make capital investments and improve transit options for workers, students, and families. The senators worked to reinstate this vital competitive grant program in the 2015 FAST Act, and were proud to support up to $400 million in new funding for the Buses and Bus Facilities program in the federal spending bill passed in March 2018. Those investments will be available for future grants, ensuring the program will continue to help communities into next year.

“These grants are welcome news to commuters and will pave the way for jobs and economic growth. By connecting commuters and businesses throughout the region, we can increase opportunity while decreasing congestion on our roads. We need to keep commuters moving. Washingtonians are spending too much time on the road. These bus grants help get people to and from work faster,” Senator Cantwell said. “Annually, Washingtonians take more than 190 million trips on buses to get to work, access healthcare or attend school. It is critical we invest in transit services as commuters continue to turn to public transportation.”

“Having safe, reliable transportation can make a real difference in our communities, whether it’s helping a student get to class, or a worker getting across town for a shift,” Senator Murray said“I push for these investments because I know transit is an important component for our communities both big and small, and good transit options create opportunity and reliability for workers, families, and businesses.”

A full list of recipients is below.


Sound Transit



King County Metro



Intercity Transit


Snohomish County

Community Transit



Everett Transit



Skagit Transit



Muckleshoot Indian Tribe


Pierce County

Pierce Transit


Franklin & Benton Counties

Ben Franklin Transit



Spokane Transit Authority