Senators Cantwell, Murray Announce Bill to Force Trump Administration to Maintain U.S. Participation in Historic International Climate Accord

Bill would prevent Trump administration from using funds to withdraw from the Paris Climate Agreement, prioritize meeting agreement standards, reducing emissions

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Maria Cantwell (D-WA) and Patty Murray (D-WA) joined with a group of 43 senators to announce legislation in the Senate directing the Trump administration to meet the standards established by the historic Paris Climate Agreement and to mitigate the long-term damage caused by the Trump administration’s anti-environment actions. The International Climate Accountability Act, lead by Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), would prevent the President from using funds to withdraw from the Paris Climate Accord and instead, directs the Trump administration to develop a strategic plan for the country to meet its commitment under the 2015 Paris Climate Agreement.

“Climate change is already taking a toll throughout the Pacific Northwest, from bigger and more intense wildfires to retreating glaciers and disruptions to our agricultural economy,” Senator Cantwell said. “Doing nothing will cost us trillions and risk leaving future generations with an uninhabitable planet. If President Trump is going to continue to ignore science, it’s up to the United States Senate to step up -- for our future economic prosperity and competitiveness and for generations of Americans to come.”

“Washingtonians have long been focused on combatting the dangers climate change has already inflicted to our environment and economy, and backing out of the Paris Climate Agreement was a self-inflicted injury to America’s credibility in this critical global fight,” said Senator Murray. “This legislation rightly seeks to correct that mistake and have our country once again lead in the ongoing fight against the immediate threat of climate change. While President Trump and Republicans have consistently shown that that they are unwilling to take the necessary steps to address the climate crisis, my Democratic colleagues in the Senate and I will continue working towards solutions.”

Senators Cantwell and Murray have worked relentlessly to fight climate change and protect our planet. In March, both Senators spoke passionately from the Senate floor to state their opposition to climate change, and advocate for steps to reduce the threat it poses. In 2017, both Senators urged President Trump not to withdraw from the Paris Climate Agreement.

The International Climate Accountability Act is also cosponsored by Senators Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Tom Carper (D-DE), Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Kamala Harris (D-CA), Ed Markey (D-MA), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Tina Smith (D-MN), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Jack Reed (D-RI), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Chris Coons (D-DE), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), Tom Udall (D-NM), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Angus King (I-ME), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Bob Casey (D-PA), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Gary Peters (D-MI), Jon Tester (D-MT), and Doug Jones (D-AL). Congresswoman Kathy Castor (FL-14) introduced companion legislation, which passed the House of Representatives last month.

The legislation has been endorsed by the Center for American Progress, BlueGreen Alliance, Earthjustice, Environment America, Environmental Defense Fund, League of Conservation Voters, National Wildlife Federation, Natural Resources Defense Council, Sierra Club, Union of Concerned Sciences and additional organizations listed here in a letter of support.

Text of the legislation can be found here.