Cantwell, Murray introduce resolution celebrating Seahawks’ Super Bowl victory

Resolution credits the12th Man for being the ‘loudest, proudest and most impactful group of fans in sports’

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senators Maria Cantwell (D-WA) and Patty Murray (D-WA) introduced a formal resolution congratulating the Seattle Seahawks and the 12th Man on their 43-8 victory over the Denver Broncos in Super Bowl XLVIII.

This was a special season for the Seahawks and the 12th Man who followed them every step of the way to a Super Bowl victory,” Cantwell said. “America saw Seahawks pride on full display last week as hundreds of thousands of fans packed downtown Seattle to celebrate the franchise’s first Lombardi Trophy. Washington state is proud of the teamwork, focus and tremendous talent that the Seahawks displayed all year long. Congratulations again to coach Pete Carroll and his Seahawks on this long-awaited milestone in Northwest sports history.” 

“Whether it was Russell Wilson and the thrilling offense, or Richard Sherman and the crushing defense – since Week 1 there was no doubt that the Seattle Seahawks and the 12th Man were poised for greatness,” Murray said. “Their perseverance, leadership, and love of the game were an inspiration to so many across our great state. I look forward to welcoming our Super Bowl XLVIII Champion Seahawks here to the ‘other’ Washington in the near future as this historic celebration continues.”

The resolution congratulates the Seahawks, Carroll, owner Paul Allen and team management, and the 12th Man for being the “most loyal and loudest sports fans in the world.”

The Seahawks’ top-ranked “Legion of Boom” defense stifled Peyton Manning and the league’s No. 1 offense during the Feb. 2 match-up. In addition to the victory, Coach Pete Carroll became only the third coach in history to win both a Super Bowl in the National Football League and National Championship in college football. And Quarterback Russell Wilson is the third-youngest quarterback to start in a Super Bowl.


The full text of the Senate Resolution follows:

Whereas on February 2, 2014, the Seattle Seahawks won Super Bowl XLVIII with a commanding 43-8 victory over the Denver Broncos;

Whereas Super Bowl XLVIII is the first Super Bowl Championship won by the Seahawks franchise;

Whereas Seahawks coach Pete Carroll is only the third coach in the history of football to win both a Super Bowl in the National Football League (NFL) and a National Championship in college football;

Whereas Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson is the third-youngest starting quarterback to win the Super Bowl;

Whereas the Seahawks had a 13-3 record for the 2013 regular season, giving the Seahawks the best regular season record in the National Football Conference and tying them with the Broncos for the best regular season record in the NFL;

Whereas in December 1984, the Seahawks retired the number 12 in honor of their fan base, the loudest, proudest and most impactful group of fans in sports, which is known as “the 12th Man”;

Whereas the 12th Man is critical to the home field advantage of the Seahawks at CenturyLink Field, holds a world record for crowd noise at 137.6 decibels, and has twice triggered measurable earthquakes on the Richter scale;

Whereas the Seahawks have the top-ranked defense in the NFL, led by an unstoppable defensive line and cornerback Richard Sherman and the “Legion of Boom” secondary;

Whereas Seattle linebacker Malcolm Smith was named Most Valuable Player (MVP) of Super Bowl XLVIII after making several key plays, including a 69-yard interception return for a touchdown in the second quarter;

Whereas Smith is the first defensive player to be named Super Bowl MVP since Super Bowl XXXVII;

Whereas the Seahawks defense contributed to a Broncos safety that was the fastest score in Super Bowl history and helped the Seahawks hold the lead throughout the game despite the Broncos having the highest-scoring offense in NFL history;

Whereas Super Bowl XLVIII was the most-watched television show in United States history, with an average audience of 111,500,000 people tuning in;

Whereas Seahawks owner Paul G. Allen and team coaches, staff, players, and all of their families and supporters should be commended for their dedication to supporting communities throughout the State of Washington with generous charity and advocacy work on behalf of those less fortunate; and

Whereas on February 5, 2014, 700,000 fans packed the streets of Seattle to celebrate the Seahawks victory; Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Senate –

(1)   Congratulates

(A)   The Seattle Seahawks for their victory in Super Bowl XLVIII, the first National Football League championship brought home to the Pacific Northwest;

(B)   Seahawks owner Paul G. Allen and the Seahawks coaching, management, and support staff;

(C)  The Seahawks 12th Man, for being the most loyal and loudest sports fans in the world; and

(D)  The Denver Broncos and quarterback Peyton Manning on a historic season; and

(2)   Requests the Secretary of the Senate to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolution to –

(A)   Seahawks owner and Chairman Paul G. Allen;

(B)   Seahawks President Peter McLoughlin; and

(C)  Seahawks Executive Vice President of Football Operations and Head Coach Pete Carroll.