Cantwell, Murray Pass Senate Resolution Honoring PLU Softball’s Championship Season

The Division III softball title is first in school history

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senators Maria Cantwell (D-WA) and Patty Murray (D-WA) secured passage of a Senate Resolution honoring the Pacific Lutheran University Lutes softball team for their victory in the Division III Softball National Championship. On May 21, 2012, the Lutes beat Linfield College 3-0 to clinch the title. The Senators congratulated the team for compiling a 45-11 record and winning the first softball championship in the history of the university.

The Senators also noted the passage of Title IX in 1972, which has driven participation in women’s collegiate athletics. Title IX has led to a 574 percent increase in female participation in college sports.

“Congratulations to the PLU players, coaches, and managers on their championship,” said Cantwell. “This season the Lutes came together for a memorable title run that made Washingtonians proud. Their victory is also a reminder of Title IX’s enduring legacy. As we honor Title IX’s 40th anniversary, we applaud the tremendous achievements of PLU softball and millions of female athletes around the country.”

“Congratulations to Pacific Lutheran University and their amazing championship team,” said Murray. “This championship may be the first for PLU, but I am confident it won’t be the last.”

Text of the Resolution follows.

Commending the Pacific Lutheran University Lutes for winning the 2012 D-III Softball National Championship.

Whereas, on May 21, 2012, the Pacific Lutheran Lutes (referred to in this preamble as the ‘PLU Lutes’) defeated Linfield College by a score of 3 to 0 to win the College Women's Softball National Championship;

Whereas this victory is the first softball championship in history at PLU;

Whereas this National Championship is the first national championship for the university since 1999;

Whereas the PLU Lutes had a season record of 45-11;

Whereas the PLU Lutes 2012 season broke the PLU record for most wins in a season, with 45 wins;

Whereas the PLU Lutes also broke school records in most runs scored and most total bases;

Whereas senior pitcher Stacy Hagensen was named the tournament’s Most Outstanding Player by allowing no runs scored by Linfield and limiting Linfield to only 3 hits;

Whereas the team members and coaches of the PLU Lutes have set the example for the leadership of women in collegiate athletics;

Whereas head coach of the PLU Lutes, Erin Van Nostrand, associate head coach Greg Seeley, and assistant coaches Tiffany McVay, Dena Harkovitch, and Dena Slye led the team to win the championship through leadership and a winning philosophy;

Whereas the PLU Softball Team exemplifies the mission of Title IX, which was enacted forty years ago this month to ensure that gender discrimination did not interfere with educational opportunities;

Whereas the passage of Title IX has led to a 574 percent increase in female participation in college sports and a 1,000 percent increase in participation in high school sports;

Whereas before Title IX, 2 percent of the college students participating in sports were women. In 2001, women were 43 percent of the college students participating in sports;

Whereas by a 3-1 ratio, female athletes perform better in school and student-athletes annually outperform their student-body counterparts in graduation rates;

Whereas the 2012 PLU Softball team is evidence of what can be accomplished when self is set aside and a teamwork mentality is adopted by all of the players: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Senate--

(1) commends--

(A) the PLU Lutes for winning Women's D-III National Softball College Championship; and

(B) the people of Washington State for their support of the team;

(2) recognizes the achievements of all the players, coaches, and support staff who were instrumental in the success of the PLU Lutes during the 2012 Women's Softball season; and

(3) requests the Secretary of the Senate to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolution for appropriate display to the PLU Women’s Softball Team