Senate Passes Cantwell, Murray Resolution Honoring Gonzaga’s 125th Anniversary

2012-2013 school year marks the 125th year that Gonzaga has been awarding degrees

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The U.S. Senate passed a resolution introduced by Senators Maria Cantwell (D-WA) and Patty Murray (D-WA) honoring Gonzaga University on its 125th anniversary. The 2012-2013 school year marks the 125th year that Gonzaga University has been awarding degrees to students. The resolution, S.RES.25, was adopted by unanimous consent last night.

The complete text of the resolution follows.


Honoring Gonzaga University on its 125th anniversary.

Whereas, in 1881, at the request of the citizens of the City of Spokane Falls, Washington, Father Joseph Cataldo, S.J., a Jesuit from the Rocky Mountain Mission, com­mitted to establishing a school along the banks of the Spokane River;

Whereas, on September 17, 1887, Gonzaga College officially opened its doors with an inaugural class of 18 students;

Whereas Gonzaga College, known today as Gonzaga Univer­sity, has grown into a nationally recognized 4-year liberal arts university, where nearly 8,000 students can chose from more than 75 fields of study, select from 25 mas­ter's degree programs, and pursue doctoral degrees in law and leadership studies;

Whereas Gonzaga University is repeatedly listed as one of the best comprehensive regional universities in the western United States, is ranked second in the United States among small universities for alumni serving in the Peace Corps, and consistently earns a place on the President's Higher Education and Community Service Honor Roll;

Whereas Gonzaga University invests more than $60,000,000 annually in scholarships and in financial assistance to its students; and

Whereas notable Gonzaga alumni include a former Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, a Gov­ernor of the State of Washington and the first female At­torney General of the State of Washington, the current Chaplain of the United States House of Representatives, judges of the United States district courts, and members of the Washington State Supreme Court: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Senate—

(1) honors Gonzaga University on its 125th anniversary;

(2) celebrates the commitment of Gonzaga University to its students and to educating the whole individual, including the mind, body, and spirit;

(3) applauds Gonzaga University for its dedication to instilling the importance of service
to others
and civic engagement; and

(4) congratulates the students, staff, faculty, alumni, and supporters of Gonzaga University for their many contributions in the United States and abroad.