Washington Lawmakers Introduce Resolution Celebrating Seattle Sounders FC 2019 MLS Cup Victory

Resolution honors team’s second championship, contributions to Seattle region

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Following the victory of Seattle Sounders FC in the 2019 Major League Soccer (MLS) Cup last weekend, U.S. Senators Maria Cantwell (D-WA) and Patty Murray (D-WA) introduced a resolution honoring the Sounders on their successful season and championship triumph. In the U.S. House of Representatives, U.S. Representatives Suzan DelBene (WA-01) and Rick Larsen (WA-02) led other Washington lawmakers in a similar resolution. 

“The dedication and hard work of Seattle Sounders FC has inspired and empowered girls, boys, women, and men of all ages,” the resolution states. “We applaud the people of Seattle and the surrounding region for their enthusiastic support of Seattle Sounders FC.” 

Last weekend, Seattle Sounders FC defeated Toronto FC in the 2019 MLS Cup, the second championship won by the team in its 11 years in Major League Soccer. The game, played at CenturyLink Field in Seattle, set the record for the largest crowd at a sporting event in the 17-year history of the stadium, with nearly 70,000 enthusiastic fans packing the stands. 

In the resolution, the lawmakers also called attention to the team’s charitable organization, the RAVE Foundation, which invests in soccer programs that inspire youth and strengthen communities across the greater Puget Sound region. 

In addition to DelBene and Larsen, the House resolution was also introduced by U.S. Representatives Dan Newhouse (WA-04), Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA-05), Derek Kilmer (WA-06), Pramila Jayapal (WA-07), Kim Schrier (WA-08), Adam Smith (WA-09), and Denny Heck (WA-10). 

The full text of the resolution can be found HERE.