Cantwell, Murray Congratulate Seattle Storm on WNBA Victory

WASHINGTON, DC – Today, U.S. Senators Maria Cantwell (D-WA) and Patty Murray (D-WA) introduced a resolution applauding the Seattle Storm for winning Women’s National Basketball Association (WBNA) Championship.  The Storm defeated the Atlanta Dream 87-84 last Thursday to win the title.
“I want to extend my heartiest congratulations to the players, coaches, and owners of the Seattle Storm,” Senator Cantwell said. “The women of the Storm performed brilliantly and Washington state is celebrating their well-earned success.” 
“The Seattle Storm put forth an impressive team effort in an exciting, memorable victory in the WNBA Finals,” Senator Murray said.  “The players, coaches, and management of the Storm deserve great praise for putting together a powerhouse with unlimited potential. Washington could not be prouder of our two-time champion Storm.”
During the regular season, the Storm had a .824 winning percentage (28-6), which is the best of any professional sports team in Seattle history.  Center Lauren Jackson was named Most Valuable Player of the WNBA Finals, as well as the Most Valuable Player of the regular season.  Head Coach Brian Agler was named the 2010 WBNA Coach of the year.  The Storm is owned Dawn Trudeau, Lisa Brummel, Anne Levinson, and Ginny Gilder, who purchased the team in 2008.  This was the Storm’s second WNBA championship in their 11 year history.